The Board of Overseers is one of Harvard’s two governing boards, the other being the President and Fellows, also known as the Corporation. Drawing on the diverse experience and expertise of its members, the Board of Overseers exerts broad influence over the University's strategic directions, provides essential counsel to the University’s leadership on priorities and plans, and has the power of consent to certain actions such as the election of Corporation members.  

体育投注The Board also directs the visitation process by which a broad array of Harvard Schools and departments are periodically reviewed. Led by the Board, the more than 50 visiting committees (on which Overseers serve with others) play a principal role in assessing the quality of Harvard’s programs and assuring that the University remains true to its charter as a place of learning.

The Board as a whole typically meets five times during the academic year. Its plenary sessions commonly focus on a broad topic that is prominent on the University agenda—such as the effort to enhance undergraduate education; the pursuit of interfaculty academic collaboration; or emerging initiatives in the sciences, the arts, or international studies. Plenary sessions also commonly include reports from the Board’s several standing committees (which cover both academic and administrative domains) as well as a discussion with the president of the University about key issues and challenges. Here the Overseers may have their greatest effect, bringing to bear their special expertise, wise judgment, and deep interest in Harvard. 

New members of the board are elected each spring by Harvard degree holders (other than officers of government or instruction at the University and members of the Corporation).  Aspects of their role are set forth in a statement on Expectations of Service.  The current members of the board (with their terms of service) are:

Geraldine Acuña-Sunshine (2018-2024)
Boston, MA
President, Sunshine Care Foundation for Neurological Care and Research, and Senior Counsel, Bracebridge Capital

Michael Brown (2014-2020)
Boston, MA
Senior Advisor and Co-Founder, City Year

P. Lindsay Chase-Lansdale (2016-2022)
Evanston, IL
体育投注Frances Willard Professor of Human Development and Social Policy and Vice Provost for Academics, Northwestern University

R. Martin Chávez (2015-2021)
New York, NY
体育投注Senior Director, Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

Alice Hm Chen (2019-2025)
San Francisco, CA
Deputy Secretary for Policy and Planning and Director of Clinical Affairs, California Health and Human Services Agency, and Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco

Paul L. Choi (2017-2023)
Chicago, IL
Partner, Sidley Austin LLP 

Philip Hart Cullom (2018-2024)
Gaithersburg, MD
体育投注Vice Admiral (retired), U.S. Navy

Fernande R. V. Duffly (2015-2021)
Cambridge, MA
体育投注Former Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

Janet Echelman (2019-2023)
Brookline, MA
Artist, and President of Studio Echelman

Helena Buonanno Foulkes (2016-2022)
New York, NY
Chief Executive Officer, Hudson’s Bay Company

Brian Greene (2015-2021)
New York, NY
体育投注Professor of Physics, Professor of Mathematics, and Director, Center for Theoretical Physics, Columbia University

Carla Harris (2017-2023)
New York, NY
Vice Chair of Wealth Management, Senior Client Advisor and Managing Director, Morgan Stanley

Meredith (Max) Hodges (2018-2024)
Boston, MA
体育投注Executive Director, Boston Ballet

Marilyn Holifield (2018-2024)
Miami, FL
Partner, Holland & Knight LLP

Darienne Driver Hudson (2017-2023)
Detroit, MI
体育投注President and CEO, United Way for Southeastern Michigan

Vivian Hunt (2019-2025)
London, England
Managing Partner, McKinsey & Company, United Kingdom & Ireland

Tyler Jacks (2019-2025)
Cambridge, MA
Koch Professor of Biology and Director, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ketanji Brown Jackson (2016-2022)
Washington, DC
体育投注Judge, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia

Beth Y. Karlan (2015-2021)
Los Angeles, CA
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California at Los Angeles

John B. King, Jr. (2019-2025)
Washington, DC
体育投注President and CEO, The Education Trust

Michael M. Lynton (2012-2020)
New York, NY
Chairman, Snap Inc.

Alejandro Ramírez Magaña (2016-2022)
Mexico City, Mexico
CEO, Cinépolis

Diego A. Rodriguez (2018-2020)
Palo Alto, CA
体育投注Executive Vice President, Chief Product and Design Officer, Intuit Inc.

Lesley Friedman Rosenthal (2014-2020)
New York, NY
Chief Operating Officer and Corporate Secretary, The Juilliard School

Yvette Roubideaux (2018-2024)
Washington, DC
体育投注Director, Policy Research Center, National Congress of American Indians

Reshma Saujani (2019-2025)
New York, NY
Founder and CEO, Girls Who Code

Leslie P. Tolbert (2017-2023)
Tucson, AZ
体育投注Regents’ Professor Emerita, Department of Neuroscience, University of Arizona

Kent Walker (2016-2022)
Mountain View, CA
体育投注Senior Vice President, Global Affairs, and Chief Legal Officer, Google LLC

John Silvanus Wilson, Jr. (2015-2021) - on leave
Cambridge, MA
体育投注Former President, Morehouse College

Ryan Wise (2019-2020)
Des Moines, Iowa
Director, Iowa Department of Education; Dean-designate, Drake University School of Education

Lawrence S. Bacow
President, Harvard University
Ex officio

Paul J. Finnegan
Treasurer, Harvard University
Ex officio